Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Print
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Alternatives to Avid Elixir 7? (Read 2171 times)
lcogginz

Work Ride Tarheel Trailblazers

Alternatives to Avid Elixir 7?
09/10/13 at 12:02am
Print Post  
Have the above brakes on my Trek currently. Not pleased with the level of noise, and a recent trip to the lbs for the rear brake only fixed it for a couple of rides. Tired of the squeal and of pedaling through resistance. And I'm kinda new to the mtb thing so I'm pretty reliant on cautious brake use right now, which means they squeal a lot.

Thinking about going Shimano at some point soon. Thoughts or recommendations?

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

IP Logged

Banjopickin
Big Ring

Spinnin' knees & Hittin'
trees since '85

Re: Alternatives to Avid Elixir 7?
Reply #1 - 09/10/13 at 2:31am
Print Post  
I run XTs. Big improvement over my elixir 5s. SLXs are nice too so ive been told. If you got some coin lying around check out Formula'or Hope's too.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

Advocat wrote on 08/22/13 at 5:16pm:
...packin some Chub in the back of the pick-up.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

IP Logged

Screaming Knees
Big Ring

Reply #2 - 09/10/13 at 5:27am
Print Post  
Although Avid brakes are pretty good, they don't like certain bikes. You could probably get a decent amount for your Avids and buy new Shimano SLX or XT brakes and be very happy with them. I haven't heard much talk about either of them being noisy and they are fantastic brakes.

A mountain biker that doesn't ride a road bike has no legs, A road biker that doesn't ride the mountain bike has no soul.

IP Logged

phattire
Little Ring

Reply #3 - 09/10/13 at 10:15am
Print Post  
I have XT's and Hope's, Both are great but I like the Hopes better.

MY GRASS IS BLUE!

IP Logged

Yellowduck
Big Ring

Reply #4 - 09/10/13 at 12:56pm
Print Post