Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Print
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) First Time Racing (Read 1438 times)
Chase

Work Ride Tarheel Trailblazers
and maple syrup

First Time Racing
04/18/17 at 2:50pm
Print Post  
I have been riding for a few years now but have never done any racing.  I plan on doing a couple races at Tuck Fest particularly KOGH and the half marathon.  Are there any rules or tips I should be aware about?

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

Would You Kindly

IP Logged

pearl
Little Ring

Re: First Time Racing
Reply #1 - 04/18/17 at 7:37pm
Print Post  
Go that way, really fast. If something gets in your way... turn.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

IP Logged

Banjopickin
Big Ring

Spinnin' knees & Hittin'
trees since '85

Reply #2 - 04/18/17 at 8:28pm
Print Post  
If you aint first you're last...

Rubbings racing...

If they talk smack, put em in the wall...

Advocat wrote on 08/22/13 at 5:16pm:
...packin some Chub in the back of the pick-up.

IP Logged

catsruletn
IB Room
In The Loop
Project Board

My bike demands rights!!

Reply #3 - 04/18/17 at 11:26pm
Print Post  
Get your race day nutrition figured out before race day.

Our doubts are traitors and make us lose the good we oft might win by fearing to attempt.

IP Logged

pearl
Little Ring

Reply #4 - 04/19/17 at 12:12am
Print Post  
Real advice:

Bring enough water for your race in a hydration pack. I've raced for ~7 years and find with bottles, I cannot drink enough for XC distance races. The hydration pack allows you to drink without having to take you hands off the bars for a long time. For a hour race, you don't need 3 liters of water. Fill up two bottles and dump it in. Again, racing will help you fogutemoutnifnthat is enough water or not.