Page Index Toggle Pages: [1]  Print
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) New brakes time... (Read 3458 times)
Banjopickin
Big Ring

Spinnin' knees & Hittin'
trees since '85

New brakes time...
06/10/13 at 2:38pm
Print Post  
Hey folks,

After spending the week riding Pisgah ive come to realize that my Avid Elixir 5s are garbage. They stop me(sometimes) but I need some brakes that are more sensitive/controllable and also provide more stopping power. Im a newb to brakes having only run the Avids and some very old Shimano mech. brakes. Im looking for something that stops with ease and can be feathered to increase control on steep descents and cornering. What are ya'll running and and/or would recommend?  Im lookong at XT/XTRs but Hopes and Formula brakes come well reviewed as well. Thanks.  Smiley

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

Advocat wrote on 08/22/13 at 5:16pm:
...packin some Chub in the back of the pick-up.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

IP Logged

Sandman
Big Ring

Re: New brakes time...
Reply #1 - 06/10/13 at 3:19pm
Print Post  
The new X0 Trails are supposed to be great. I just got some Code Rs for a good deal used on Pinkbike. Any of the 4 piston brakes should have better stopping power.

On my Nomad I was running the Hayes Prime Pros with 185mm rotors and they felt good for an all mountain bike.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

"I am losing precious days. I am degenerating into a machine for making money. I am learning nothing in this trivial world of men. I must break away and get out into the mountains to learn the news.”

-John Muir

Enoch
Forum Administrator
IB Room
Project Board
In The Loop

Walked with God and he
was not

Reply #2 - 06/10/13 at 3:34pm
Print Post