Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Print
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Trail closures - who decides? (Read 2039 times)
NC_Pyga
Coaster Bike

Work Ride Tarheel Trailblazers

Trail closures - who decides?
09/18/14 at 7:05pm
Print Post  
Just after some clarification regarding trail closures.

I was free yesterday afternoon and would like to have gone riding but the trail conditions shown on the home page showed them all closed.  I see that some people rode Sherman yesterday and found the trail OK. I didn't want to risk going out and getting into trouble for riding a closed trail so who decides if it's open or if it's too wet to ride and what are the thresholds that determine a trail too wet?

I apologize if this is a lame question but I'm still relatively new to trails here. All my previous riding was in Portugal where the only restriction was how brave you wanted to be in the mud.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

IP Logged

Doc00t
IB Room
In The Loop
Project Board

When in DOUBT, PEDAL it
OUT

Re: Trail closures - who decides?
Reply #1 - 09/18/14 at 7:14pm
Print Post  
Sherman has been open since the 14th.  If the homepage says its open then go ride.  If when riding you see the trail is so wet that you are leaving ruts in the ground then you should probably cut your ride short because your damaging the trail.

Each trail has somebody (usually a Trail Coordinator)  that make the call and can log onto the forum and change the status.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

Scars are like Tattoos only with better Stories

IP Logged

sager
Big Ring

Waiting for my next ride!

Reply #2 - 09/18/14 at 7:18pm
Print Post  
Don't ride closed trails.  Sherman wasn't listed as closed.  Although it was at the bottom of a long list of closed trails so I can see why you may not have read to the end.

IP Logged

Locomoto
Small Cog

I Love YaBB 2!

Reply #3 - 09/18/14 at 7:37pm