Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Print
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) How much (or how seriously) do you train? (Read 1586 times)
AMitchell47
Coaster Bike

Work Ride Tarheel Trailblazers

How much (or how seriously) do you train?
02/10/17 at 3:35pm
Print Post  
I'm new to mountain bike racing, and raced the first 3 races of the short track series this year in Beginner Men over 40.  My lap times in the last race were around 4:10/lap.  I'd like to make the leap to the sport class next year if I am fit enough when the time comes, but figure I'll have to get more focused to do it.   

I started riding more  last summer, and usually get in three rides a week. At least one of those is a slow, social ride with some friends.  One will be a full out sprint at Sherman or Rocky River by myself.  Average mileage is probably 30 to 40 miles per week.  I do some intervals on a spin bike for 30 or 40 minutes at lunch time during the work week when I can fit them in, but only started that recently.

I look at the Sport Men over 40 class, and the top 5 are running at least 20 seconds a lap faster than I am, AND going 4 laps further.  I'm dead after my 30 minutes!

Folks in the Sport class - how do you train?  Do you follow a guideline or book from a particular person, or just ride as much as you can in the time you have?  Do you ride 50 plus miles a week?

Any recommendations on a training plan for the working guy with a job and a family?  I'm hoping I can just get a little more focused with the time I do ride to get more out of it.  Any advice would be appreciated.  If it becomes too much like a job - I'll probably just chill out, keep it fun, and race once in a while.  I love pushing myself, but want to try and keep a mix of fun and training if I can.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

IP Logged

flynbryan19
Small Cog

Re: How much (or how seriously) do you train?
Reply #1 - 02/10/17 at 4:42pm
Print Post