Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Print
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Brake Upgrade - Saint, Zee, or Hope Tech (Read 1131 times)
The Duckster
Coaster Bike

Work Ride Tarheel Trailblazers

Brake Upgrade - Saint, Zee, or Hope Tech
08/03/17 at 7:18pm
Print Post  
I can never get rid of the upgrade-itis and I just cant leave anything alone, so I think my next upgrade will be new brakes. I currently have Shimano Hydraulic discs on my Kona Honzo (I think they are Deores....but they are like an OEM-only Shimano brake, so the part number isn't normal).

However, more stopping is never a bad idea. So I think I have widdled the list down to Shimano Saints, Shimano Zees, or some version of Hope Techs. I have zero experience with any of them, so just looking for some local input. I have read tons about all of them, but some parts work better for different trails, so its good to have local input.

So whaddaya think?

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

IP Logged

Slothzilla
Small Cog

Re: Brake Upgrade - Saint, Zee, or Hope Tech
Reply #1 - 08/03/17 at 7:47pm
Print Post  
Those are all pretty powerful brake sets...are you having issues with yours now or simply wanting to get something new? Where do you ride most often? The Saints and Zees are 4 piston and the Hope's are either 2 or 4 depending on the model.  You would likely get the same results, and maybe more modulation, from a set of SLX or XT stoppers and also save yourself some coin.   

My 2 pennies: the 3 brake sets you have your eye on are more, if not way more, than you need.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

IP Logged

The Duckster
Coaster Bike

Reply #2 - 08/03/17 at 8:42pm
Print Post  
Slothzilla wrote on 08/03/17 at 7:47pm: