Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Print
Normal Topic Rear tire recommendations? (Read 1532 times)
Lawrence Ismail

Work Ride Tarheel Trailblazers

Rear tire recommendations?
07/24/19 at 4:16pm
Print Post  
Hey everyone,

I am fairly new to the sport and bought a 2019 Specialized Rockhopper Pro 1x last October. It came with a Ground Control Sport, 29x2.3" up front and a Fast Trak Sport, 29x2.1" in the rear. 

The rear tire is getting close to worn out and I am starting to research replacement options. I feel like I would like to have more grip in the rear in general and I am less worried about speed at the moment. I want to build some skills and confidence first. 

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
-Lawrence

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

IP Logged

Cherokee
Little Ring

Re: Rear tire recommendations?
Reply #1 - 07/24/19 at 5:12pm
Print Post  
You already have a similar setup to mine...Ground Control front and Fast Trak rear except that I use an S-Works casing. The Sport casing is the cheapest tire version that Specialized makes. The higher end casings are more supple and have a grippier rubber compound, both of which enhance traction. Keep in mind though that you want the rear tire to break loose before the front when cornering. But you can move up to the Ground Control (regular control casing) and that would improve your rear tire grip noticeably. I would keep the 2.1 size so that it still breaks loose before the front. I've ridden that setup before and it worked well. I just go with the Fast Trak on the rear for lower rolling resistance.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) (Attachment deleted)

"The state is the great fiction by which each of us seeks to live at the expense of all of us."    --19th century French economist Frederic Bastiat

IP Logged

Lawrence Ismail

Reply #2 - 07/24/19 at 5:51pm
Print Post