Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Print
Normal Topic Robbin's Park and McDowell Creek trails (Read 854 times)
absentminded

Robbin's Park and McDowell Creek trails
05/05/21 at 1:34pm
Print Post  
Hi there, 
I'm new to mountain biking and the area and I appreciate all that you all do to make this sport so accessible. 
I live in the Huntersville/Cornelius area and use the McDowel Creek greenway often to run or ride. I noticed some walking trails in that area that lead to Robbin's Park and all in between. Whats the process like to create a proper trail there? Has anyone looked into it already? 

Thanks again for all you do.
Absentminded

IP Logged

absentminded

Re: Robbin's Park and McDowell Creek trails
Reply #1 - 05/05/21 at 1:37pm
Print Post  
also, here is a link of the trails between Robbin's Park and McDowell creek (You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)
absentminded wrote on 05/05/21 at 1:34pm:
Hi there, 
I'm new to mountain biking and the area and I appreciate all that you all do to make this sport so accessible. 
I live in the Huntersville/Cornelius area and use the McDowel Creek greenway often to run or ride. I noticed some walking trails in that area that lead to Robbin's Park and all in between. Whats the process like to create a proper trail there? Has anyone looked into it already? 

Thanks again for all you do.
Absentminded

IP Logged

TrillWill
IB Room
In The Loop
Project Board

THTB Board member 16'-23'
LKN TC

Reply #2 - 05/05/21 at 2:22pm
Print Post  
We would need a THTB member, experienced in trail planning, that is a Cornelius resident (those parks are run by the town) to take the lead on looking at the potential and then approaching the town parks and rec department to see if they would be open to expanding or altering the existing trails.  There is also a road coming through there in a couple years so the best time may be after that dust settles.